RSS

Christmas Already??? (some favorite youth group resources)

28 Nov

Less than a month to go until Christmas! As we head into the Christmas season I wanted to share some of my favorite online Christmas resources.

Season’s Beatings: Live from Downtown
This is a great youth group skit, as characters are one stage one at time, students can play more than one role. My students have heaps of fun doing this one!

“Jingle All the Way”
This a children’s moment that has the same theme as the play. I couldn’t afford to buy bells for all the children, so I printed a bell on a coloring sheet, and encouraged the kids to “ring” their paper bells at the right times. Some of the parents commented they liked this even better! ;) I also had several real bells to use as examples.

Easter Jesus vs Christmas Jesus
The skit combines the imagery and prophecy of Christmas and Easter in a creative way.

The point the Easter vs Christmas drama is what it looks like when we focus only one image of Jesus. While it might not be a Christmas skit, I wanted to share a humorous illustration from Talladega Nights. The version I’ve linked is actually edited slightly, making it more youth group appropriate.

Christmas Caper – Did Grandma get run over by a Reindeer?
This provided a fun base for our Christmas party. We set up stations around the school we met at, although going to other people’s homes would have been fun too. I was afraid my youth wouldn’t catch the American references but all did well. It was a memorable night!

To top off the night, I splurged and bought chocolate covered blueberries (imported for Christmas from the international supermarket) and gave all the youth a gift of Reindeer poop! There are a couple “recipes” (poems to go with the candy) floating around online. I used this one.

Merry Christmas! =D  Enjoy

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Youth Resources

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Christmas Already??? (some favorite youth group resources)

  1. Alaine

    November 29, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    Isn’t it crazy how time flies?
    I walked down 5th avenue (a shopping area in New York) to look at all the Christmas decorations and do a little holiday shopping over the long Thanksgiving weekend and everyone is definitely in the holiday spirit!

     

Leave a comment